Exercise
1

1. How was it she hadn’t seen him before? 
2. It was that he had struck his wife.
3. Which he hadn’t meant to say at all.
4. Hadn’t she ever been ready to help him?
5. I  my heart on it.
6. She   since he left the barn.
7. At the time of her death she .
8. A singular idea  to him.
9. The man in the corner  his lunch. 
10. He looked as if he  in a fight.
11. It was the only command he  them. 
12. I looked in the direction she . 
13. John said that he  no trouble. 
14. He  the cause of her own death.
15.  her what she had the right to expect?
16. These particular men  for this particular purpose.
17. He had not been there for a long time.
18.  Where had ı seen such a figure before?
19. She hadnt knew any one like him.
20. What had she done to deserve this fate?

Exercise
2
  1. Peter was Sally’s best friend. She’d known him all her life.score
  2. The children were wet because they’d been playing football in the rain.score
  3. We were very hungry because we hadnt eaten.score
  4. I was delighted when I found my keys. I’d been looking for them for hours.score
  5. She was exhausted because she’d been working since eight o’clock that morning.score
  6. Everything was white because it’d been snowing.score
  7. The passengers were cross because the airline had lost everyone’s bags.score
  8. I hadnt seen Jacob for several years, but I recognised him immediately.